Standing up for Landowners. Standing up to Government.

Owners’ Counsel of America Selects Charles McFarland As New Texas Representative

On Behalf of | May 3, 2019 | Uncategorized |

Owners' Counsel of America

The Owners’ Counsel of America, a nationwide network of leading eminent domain attorneys, recently selected Charles McFarland as its the representative member from Texas.

Owners’ Counsel of America brings together the most experienced eminent domain trial lawyers in the country to create a network of condemnation attorneys dedicated to representing property owners threatened with eminent domain and property rights issues. Through an intensive and highly-selective vetting process, Owners’ Counsel limits its membership to one eminent domain attorney from each of the 50 states.

The founding member of McFarland PLLC, Charles focuses his law practice exclusively on representing property owners in eminent domain and condemnation litigation. He is well-known throughout Texas for his fierce advocacy of landowners and his skill and experience in the courtroom.

Charles achieved board certification in Civil Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization through trying condemnation cases on behalf of property owners. He is a past president of the Texas Association of Civil Trial and Appellate Specialists, an association comprised of attorneys and judges who have obtained board certification in Civil Appellate Law, Civil Trial Law, or Personal Injury Trial Law.   This association was established in 1986 to promote the availability, accessibility, and quality of the services of civil trial and appellate lawyers to the public.

Charles has been recognized by his peers for inclusion in The Best Layers in America and Texas Super Lawyers in the areas of Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law and holds the AV Preeminent Rating, Martindale-Hubbell’s highest possible rating for ethical standards and legal ability. Charles is a frequent speaker and panelist on the topic of Condemnation and Eminent Domain Law and has been a contributing author to the American Bar Association, the American Law Institute, and other publications.

The Texas seat was previously occupied by H. Dixon Montague, a legend of the eminent domain bar who passed in 2018.